Home | Profile | Consulting | Training | Briefing | Promotion | Publication | Management Forum | Contact Us

ISO 9001 / ISO 14001 / OHSAS 18001


ISO 22000 / HACCP

Food Safety Audit

Business Strategy

Process Improvement

ISO 22000 - Food Safety Management System Standards  
ISO 22000, published on 1 September 2005, is a new International Standard designed to ensure safe food supply chains worldwide and the first of a family on food safety management systems.  
ISO 22000:2005, Food safety management systems - Requirements for any organization in the food chain, provides a framework of internationally harmonized requirements for the global approach that is needed. The standard has been developed within ISO by experts from the food industry, along with representatives of specialized international organizations and in close cooperation with the Codex Alimentarius Commission, the body jointly established by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) and World Health Organization (WHO) of United Nations to develop food standards.  
A major resulting benefit is that ISO 22000 will make it easier for organizations worldwide to implement the Codex HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point) system for food hygiene in a harmonized manner, which does not vary with the country or food product concerned.  
Certification to ISO 22000 is not a requirement of that standard, which can be implemented solely for the benefits it provides. However, where certification is required by customers, or by regulators, or is judged desirable as a marketing differ.  
ISO 22000 can be applied to organizations ranging from feed producers and primary producers through food manufacturers, transport and storage operators, and subcontractors to retail and food service outlets. Related organizations such as producers of equipment, packaging material, cleaning agents, additives and ingredients are also affected by the prospective standard.  
Hazard Analysis & Critical Control Points (HACCP)  
For the food and drink industry, the traditional dependence on spot-checks of the manufacturing processes and sampling of final products is reactive and inefficient.  
Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points or HACCP (pronounced ‘hassip?, a preventative system that is used to identify, evaluate and control food safety hazards, is becoming a worldwide norm for food safety.  
First developed some 50 years ago for US astronauts, the HACCP system in its latest form is defined by 7 Principles.  These are:  
  1. Conduct a hazard analysis.
  2. Identify the Critical Control Points (CCPs), the steps at which control can be applied and is essential to prevent or to eliminate a food safety hazard or reduce it to an acceptable level.
  3. Establish critical limits associated with each identified CCP.
  4. Establish CCP monitoring requirements.
  5. Establish corrective actions to be taken when there is a deviation from an established critical limit.
  6. Establish effective record-keeping procedures that document the HACCP system.
  7. Establish procedures for verification that the HACCP system is working correctly.
Anyone who is familiar with ISO 9001:2008 would easily realize that integrating HACCP into an ISO 9001 quality system would help in the effective management of these HACCP principles and lead to enhanced customer satisfaction.  For example, the application of HACCP for the identification of hazards is related to quality planning required by ISO 9001; and control of risks is related to preventive actions.  
TQC not only provides specialist consulting services in the establishing and implementing of ISO 22000:2005 or integrated ISO 9001-HACCP systems, but will also ensure that Good Hygiene Practice (GHP), Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP), or, if relevant, Good Laboratory Practice (GLP) are enforced.  In fact, we have provided consulting and training services for well-known food giants such as the Cafe de Coral Group.   
You are welcomed to contact us by e-mail for further details or call us at (852) 2781 2112.  

TQC Development Centre Ltd.  All rights reserved 2000-2014.